WSC 2010

View a message from
His Royal Highness on the occasion
of the 1st World Seabird Conference.

Photo Credit: Charles Sainsbury-Plaice

The 1st World Seabird Conference Program featured over 700 presentations reflecting the work and research of over 1300 individual authors, presenters and convenors. These presentations provided an excellent framework and blueprint for seabird science, information management and exchange, and management/conservation activities for the next decade.

The 2010 scientific program included:

  • over 120 Invited Presentations comprising four Primary Symposia and nine Special Paper Sessions
  • over 120 Contributed Papers
  • over 360 Posters divided into two Poster Sessions lasting two days each with each Poster session featuring topic areas generally reflecting the oral presentations during the two days
  • an important series of WSC Legacy Workshops to generate input and discussion on improving access to, and use of, information and data on seabirds which would benefit from interaction and integration at regional and/or global scales
  • an additional two open Workshops
Leadership Committees

International Steering Committee (ISC)
Chair: David Irons
View all committee members

International Fundraising Committee (IFC)
Co-Chairs: William J. Sydeman & Jennifer Wheeler
View all committee members

Scientific Program Committee (SPC)
Co-Chairs: Pat Jodice, Norman Ratcliffe & Pablo Yorio
View all committee members

Local Organising Committee (LOCO)
Chair: Patrick O’Hara
View all committee members

Travel Awards Committee (TAC)
Co-Chairs: Caio Carlos & Ken Morgan
View all committee members

Database Committee (DC)
Co-Chairs: John Croxall, Scott Hatch & Ben Lascelles
View all committee members

Student Paper Awards Committee (SPAC)
Co-Chairs: Nicholas Carlile, Mark Tasker & Pablo Yorio
View all committee members

Student Award Winners
The following students were recognized for the quality of both their research and presentation at the 1st World Seabird Conference.

Undergraduate Student Awards

First Prize
Kyle Morrison

Second Prize
Sarah Wallace

Third Prize
Marina Codina-Garcia

Sponsored by:

Postgraduate Student Poster Awards

First Prize
Bethany Hawkins

Second Prize
Freydis Vigfusdottir

Third Prize
Paul Regular

Highly Commended
Vincent Viblanc
James Grecian
Jonas Hentati Sundberg
Rachael Orben

Sponsored by:


Postgraduate Student Oral Paper Awards
First Prize
Vincent LecomteSecond Prize
James Morris-PocockThird Prize
Renata MedeirosHighly Commended
Michael Polito
Emily Barlow
Petra Deane

 Sponsored by:

Thank you to the Student Awards Evaluation Committee!

Sophy Allen, Pep Arcos, Nicholas Carlile, Gail Davoren,
Lisa O’Neill, Julia Parrish,  Flavio Quintana, Matt Rayner,
Mark Tasker, Tom Van Pelt, Ross Wanless, Pablo Yorio.
Media Coverage
Biological Conservation – The role of seabirds in Marine Protected Area identification, delineation, and monitoring: Introduction and synthesis 2012, Volume 156
Marine Ecology Progress Series – Seabirds and climate change: roadmap for the future 2012, Volume 454
Marine Ecology Progress Series – Technological innovation in marine ornithology 2012, Volume 451
Georgia Strait – Victoria scientific conference to focus on sharing sea bird data worldwide September 1, 2010
African-Eurasian Waterbird Agreement – Seabirds: Linking the Global Oceans September 8, 2010
Bulletin of the British Ecological Society – BES Grants News December, 2010